I can't imagine another top-flight team I care about... Ok, that's a lie. Erm... English club? That's a lie as well. Look... I've loved them all of my life, leave it out
I can’t imagine another top-flight team I care about… Ok, that’s a lie. Erm… English club? That’s a lie as well. Look… I’ve loved them all of my life, leave it out – Image

When I first read reports of Sir Alex Ferguson retiring, I can hand on my heart say I thought Not Again? as more times than not Fergie has been rumoured to retire since the ’99 Treble. As much as I’m a Manchester United supporter (Football “fans” that are fanatical and follow them across the UK etc, I just “support” my sports teams, no personal dig but I just don’t see “it”, more power to those that do though) I didn’t read too much into this latest story, something felt different. The one I tend to do is follow the sources, I rarely bite at “hearsay” storylines anymore as no better example than Brek Shea at January Transfer Deadline, this and more just means that I’d rather wait until the last possible moment to believe a story hook-line-and-sinker. As a compromise I can say “prove it wrong” but to wholeheartedly believe most things in my life is simply an impossible dream I’m afraid.

Nice to see both actresses knowing that they need to move out of the easy "typecasts", this is them kickin' ass
Nice to see both actresses knowing that they need to move out of the easy “typecasts”, this is them kickin’ ass – Image

How did I come across the speculation you ask? For the craziest reason I was awake at 2am on 08/05/2013 after two or three hours sleep so being restless as hell I went downstairs to watch some TV. To be specific I looked through programmes and films recorded on the popular DVR service and I remembered I recorded The Runaways as it was on Film 4 two or three months ago so why not? A true story based on the 70s all-female rock band of the same name, Joan Jett along with Cherie Currie, Lita Ford, Sandy West, and Jackie West rounding the lineup I think their most successful chart song would have been Cherry Bomb. In a time without all-female rock bands and an industry generally asking female musicians to strictly play acoustic guitar, TGITR: Thank God Its The Runaways?

If you don't know of The Runaways I don't blame you. I know of Joan Jett, but yeah... Education!
If you don’t know of The Runaways I don’t blame you. I know of Joan Jett, but yeah… Education!

I “said” it during the film while “live-tweeting” and I still mean it, yes I have no reason or hit back with a “I can totally relate” but I can get a 0.01% perspective as any battle boils down to one thing. The one I told my friend Tasha last Friday is yes the same event can happen to two people, but it’s more how that individual chooses to address it that is the real unique factor. Yes the film had the odd cliché but I’ve realised in the last two or three years that clichés aren’t a bad thing, they stand the test of time and are frequently used because its like hitting the nail right on the head.

One of the only things Arsenal has to lord over Manchester United nowadays
One of the only things Arsenal has to lord over Manchester United nowadays – Image

To randomly be up at 2am-6am was rather weird as I’ve curbed my last nights somewhat but that Manchester United story, coincidence, often burnt by speculation. Its this cynicism that means I’ll only consider Manchester United’s future without Fergie when they unveil the new manager, until then stories like this irk me. People believe hearsay a bit too much for my liking, I’d rather go for hard facts hence though my Facebook is constantly churning “banter” against United (never seriously, good folks on my Facebook) I simply believe that until the new season gets underway it’s no persons place to comment. The way a number of Chelsea “supporters” dealt with Rafael Benitez was simply disgusting but I doubt Manchester United Football Club would have it in them to carry the same vendettas.

If I was born in February 1986, and "SAF" took over in November 1986, only 10 months of my life has been without Sir Alex as United manager... Weird. ALL THE BEST!
If I was born in February 1986, and “SAF” took over in November 1986, only 10 months of my life has been without Sir Alex as United manager… Weird. ALL THE BEST! – Image

All I can ever do is talk personally, but this is the day I’d always dreaded, the day I’d wish never came, the day that seemed so unfathomable I used to jokingly say Sir Alexander Chapman Ferguson CBE would most likely die *touches wood* in the job. Well it’s all said and done so we’ll see what the future will produce, all I can say is a massive #ThankYouSirAlex, we’ll see what the future brings for this club I’ll admire until the day I die if their mantra continues as-is, all that matters to me.

