Going into this penultimate weekend (9/10 March), this is as it stands!
Going into this penultimate 2013 Six Nations weekend (9/10 March), this is how it stands!

With this being the second to last week of the 2013 Six Nations, the table is primed for England as I’m sure all of the talk has to be about the bid for a first Grand Slam since 2003 (that was a nice orderve for the RWC win) I’m on the edge of my seat. We all know by now I see the Six Nations as a “Nicorette Patch” but though people look forward to the offseason moves in the NFL like notable events, I simply can’t.

I can see how people interested in the back story of each NFL prospect may be interested, but come on, seldomly does it point to a "sure-fire" pick for the NFL Draft.
I can see how people interested in the back story of each NFL prospect may be interested, but seldom does it point to a “sure-fire” pick for the NFL Draft.

One “notable” offseason event was the NFL Scouting Combine, an event were the premiere college-leaving NFL prospects are invited to Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana – The home of the Indianapolis Colts – In order to be graded on athletic ability ahead of the NFL Draft at the end of April. Being invited as one of the 330+ players from the NCAA programme is no small thing, the NCAA is made up of 1,281 institutions so imagine how many players have to be whittled down. The biggest talking point had to be how though not “the main” NFL Scouting Combine, kicker Lauren Silberman (WARNING: British POV i.e. Not great regarding American Football) went to a regional scouting combine – Something I didn’t even know about until this story broke. These regional combine’s started in 2011, and if the participants are successful at a number of regional locations they are then invited to The NFL Super Regional Scouting Combine at Ford Field in Detroit, Michigan – The home of the Detroit Lions.

Everybody's favourite NFL Network host, Mr Rich Eisen. Everybody's favourite part of the Combine, Eisen running the 40-yard dash!
Everybody’s favourite NFL Network host, Mr Rich Eisen. Everybody’s favourite part of the Combine, Eisen running the 40-yard dash!

This may be seen as “the long way around in a game of snakes and ladders” but for some players it is the best they can hope for without being considered for the NFL Supplemental Draft in which 1) It presents less of a guarantee for the players to enter the NFL 2) It comes at quite a hefty price for the NFL franchise willing to take a chance on them, the most notable player of the modern-era to emerge from it has to be Oakland Raiders QB Terrelle Pryor. Though Pryor (drafted in the 2011 edition) is due his shot in the coming 2013 season which starts in August, its one that only presented itself as he must be given a chance as “the Carson Palmer experiment” seems to have bottomed out.

FOR HUMOUR, BE'AVE!REPORTER: Lauren Silberman, not to be mistaken for comedienne Sarah Silverman's real-life sister Lauren, you duped half of the English speaking world, what are you going to do now?LAUREN SILBERMAN: I'm going to Disneyland
FOR HUMOUR, BE’AVE!
REPORTER: Lauren Silberman, not to be mistaken for comedienne Sarah Silverman’s real-life sister ‘Laura’. So Lauren you duped half of the English speaking world, what are you going to do now?
LAUREN SILBERMAN: I’m going to Disneyland

Well laying the back-drop of the hurdles Lauren Silberman would have had to overcome just to get into the NFL, it’s depressing after watching her attempts at the New York Jets practice field last week. I’m not saying I know everything about the NFL but that performance had to be hell on anyone’s eyesInjury or not, cringe. I hand on my heart can’t recommend any female NFL reporter any more than I do Aditi Kinkhabwala. Anyone that knows me knows I’m most likely the least sexist male in the typical all men are the same style herd so when I say something like that makes me feel like the women’s movement is a case of one step forward and two steps back. Women can be given the same rights as men, of course they can, but then some form of logic needs to come into the equation as now she’s a laughing stock. I’m not female so I shouldn’t have a say and I’m not but I’ve always been an empathetic soul so not to say I know exactly, but my opinion is different from my judgement on the matter but no better judge than her fellow female kicker. Though the main NFL Scouting Combine pulled in record viewer numbers, I wasn’t one and we can all thank the Six Nations for making rational thought of the sporting world, how a glorified P.E. class gets people pumped is beyond me but that’s neither here nor there.

To win it all would be called "The Uncle Dolph", don't ask.
To win it all would be called The Uncle Dolph, don’t ask.

Either way roll on the Six Nations as this weekend will be Scotland vs Wales opening up things and Scotland have already shown with wins against Italy and Ireland that home-field advantage can be telling. Then it’s Ireland vs France, can’t say more than France are yet to win after 3 rounds of play, Ireland on the other hand are in the negative side (1-2) of the mid-way point. Then that Sunday match between England and Italy, I may have already said a thing or two about it (look at first paragraph) so throw in Mother’s Day (going to make a homecooked meal, then put on a DVD) and Manchester United vs Chelsea (Not before going over to my uncles and watching it with him), my mum is going to hate me. Did I forget to mention the lads have actually agreed to play for Terry Crews (and friends) this weekend so I’m seriously starting to live a bit less out on the weekends as that used to be a prerequisite before “this” so roll on the adjustments in my life.

