Soooooooooo, I told Haley about this a good six months ago... Hmm. Awkward!
Soooooooooo, I told Haley about this a good six months ago… Hmm. Awkward!

Just got back from watching ‘Pitch Perfect‘ with a friend from my college days (English college – 1c, I’m not so “American” – yet) and add that to the ever-growing list of really?!?!? films. Those films that any heterosexual man says they don’t mind and most people will then likely judge them as fruity, but I suppose that’s the realisation a stroke has strikes, I should stop caring. I know that I’m not and the more I debate it I’m sure more people that know me wish I’d shut up as they’re sick of hearing it but at the same time I’m sick of saying it, the kind of situation that brought out the game Am I the only guy in the screening?, I was.

Like Silver Linings Playbook two weeks ago I knew though general opinion of the genre could dictate the tone while passing judgement, I owed it to myself not to until I saw the film myself. Again like Silver Linings Playbook I’m so happy that I chose to go to see it as hearsay would have it that those films shouldn’t appeal to a heterosexual single male, as I progressively paint myself as Rajesh Koothrappali from the Big Bang Theory. The constant question is a typical is he or isn’t he? But to be honest I think its just the evolution of humanity that men could do with a bit of a woman’esque charm, women could do with a bit of a man’esque one, fast-forward to the end of Big Bang and I bet it finishes with Raj being gay *sigh*

I wish I could stop mancrushing women, add Anna Kendrick to the list. She's just awesome in this though. She was boss in 50/50 as well though
I wish I could stop mancrushing women, add Anna Kendrick to the list. She’s just awesome in this though. She was boss in 50/50 as well!

All I know is that I watched Pitch Perfect and it was really good and the singing wasn’t even a factor as I was indifferent about that all along so it definitely had to be the cast. With the cast comes individual filmographies of sheer appreciation, the fact that the lead actress dated (currently? past tense? I don’t do “celebrity” so I don’t know), but Anna Kendrick & Edgar Wright (the man that directed a bunch of things I just love). There are the songs, but those weren’t the big draw, and it was a really funny anyway so much like Glee (It’s ok, I don’t watch it anymore, RIP at S3) I’ve been guilty of not knowing half the songs but a great script can turn that irrelevant. Some of the things in that film made it instantly a must-have for DVD, the story is one of things aren’t what they seem as a normally “alternative-indie kid” is asked by her father to live outside her comfort-zone, so she does and loves it. Sounds like a metaphor for my life as I saw a great tumblr picture.

Put in other things like how last weekend was my cousins 6th birthday and all the adults said it, how to us watching those kids running around the hall was reminiscent of headless chickens but it was regarded as fun for them, but for us it looked exhausting. It seems like a repeat for most things in life as people, films, society etc just aren’t what they seem, the main point seems to be one of don’t assume. Did I tell you, I love ‘Under Siege 2: Dark Territory‘ for the best cinematic line ever!

